Imaging method for displaying the tissue perfusion

In tissue perfusion or microcirculation diagnostics, imaging analysis is commonly realized with the Laser Speckle method. However, that procedure can only record micro movements in the tissue. The image quality strongly depends on the optical characteristics of the upper skin layers.
The important parameter tissue oxygenation can only be acquired indirectly via Laser Speckle. In contrast, HSI-technology enables a direct recording of tissue oxygenation.

Okklusionstest Diaspective Vision from Diaspective Vision on Vimeo.

PAD – peripheral arterial disease
PAD describes the narrowing of the arteries in extremities, which leads to insufficiently oxygenated tissue. This is most commonly caused by arteriosclerosis. PAD is usually accompanied by an increased risk for cardio-vascular diseases that can cause heart attacks and strokes.
By the targeted use of our TI-CAM system, signs of PAD can be detected earlies and countermeasures will be more efficient.

“These results suggest the ability of hyperspectral imaging to detect the presence of PAD. Hyperspectral
measurements can also evaluate different severities of PAD.

[J Vasc Surg 2011;54:1679-88.]

“Conclusion: We found sufficient evidence to use NIRS in clinical setting for assessment of chronic compartment syndrome of lower extremities, and as surveillance tool for detection of free flap failure. So far, clinical relevance of routine use of NIRS in other vascular applications is less clear. Cut-off values to discriminate are not yet unanimous and better validation has to be awaited for.”
[Boezeman, Reinout PE, et al. “Systematic review of clinical applications of monitoring muscle tissue oxygenation with near-infrared spectroscopy in vascular disease.” Microvascular research 104 (2016): 11-22.]

As part of an internal validation study for the TI-CAM an occlusion test was performed.
For the measurements, the perfusion of the left hand was regulated via a blood pressure cuff attached to the left arm. Additionally, in order to validate the measured data, a sport monitoring sensor (MOXY) was attached to the left hand. The right hand was left untouched for the test procedure. During the testing sequence, which lasted 28 mins in total, both hands were recorded simultaneously every 30 secs and the data was analyzed. The test consisted of the following phases:
• Normal state I (4 mins)
• Venous occlusion (6 mins)
• Normal state II (6 mins)
• Arterial occlusion (6 mins)
• Reperfusion (6 mins)

In the following, the results are presented.

Overview of the results of the testing sequence: Right hand is continuously in a normal state (left hand in the image), left hand with the MOXY monitor during the course of the test. The phase normal state II is not depicted. The lowest row shows the respective averaged values, acquired from the middle of the palm, as a spectrum. The upper graph represents the left, the lower graph the right palm.

Overview of the results of the testing sequence: Right hand is continuously in a normal state (left hand in the image), left hand with the MOXY monitor during the course of the test. The phase normal state II is not depicted. The lowest row shows the respective averaged values, acquired from the middle of the palm, as a spectrum. The upper graph represents the left, the lower graph the right palm.

Normal „healthy“ perfusion (normal state I)
Duration: 4 mins
Method: –
Characteristics: two sided, even oxygenation levels (~60-70 %) and NIR perfusion, almost identical distribution of hemoglobin

Venous occlusion
Duration: 6 mins
Method: occlusion of the left arm via blood pressure cuff at 80 mmHg
Characteristics: moderate decrease of tissue oxygenation (~35-45 %) and NIR perfusion as well as increase in THI levels

Normal state II
Duration: 6 mins
Method: –
Characteristics: even oxygenation and NIR perfusion, decrease of THI levels

Arterial occlusion
Duration: 6 mins
Method: occlusion of left arm via pressure cuff at 250 mmHg
Characteristics: major drop in tissue oxygenation (~25-30 %) and NIR perfusion und moderate increase of THI levels

Reperfusion
Duration: 6 mins
Method: –
Characteristics: even oxygenation and NIR perfusion levels, increase in THI levels
The following images reflect the physiological course of the testing sequence.
Comparison of tissue oxygenation in the left (TI-CAM and monitoring device) and the right hand (TI-CAM).

The tissue oxygenation of the left hand (TI-CAM: blue graph, MOXY: grey graph) acquired via TI-CAM and monitoring sensor as well as the oxygenation of the right hand are shown above. The data recorded with the MOXY are nearly identical to the data of the TI-CAM, thus confirming the TI-CAM measurements.

The tissue oxygenation of the left hand (TI-CAM: blue graph, MOXY: grey graph) acquired via TI-CAM and monitoring sensor as well as the oxygenation of the right hand are shown above. The data recorded with the MOXY are nearly identical to the data of the TI-CAM, thus confirming the TI-CAM measurements.

The diagram below shows the TI-CAM parameters: superficial oxygenation, NIR perfusion (deeper oxygenation) and tissue hemoglobin index (THI).

Juxtaposition of the parameters oxygenation, NIR perfusion and THI, which were acquired from the left hand with the TI-CAM during the course of the tests. The increase in THI levels during the venous occlusion is clearly visible, just like the major decrease of tissue oxygenation during the arterial occlusion.

Juxtaposition of the parameters oxygenation, NIR perfusion and THI, which were acquired from the left hand with the TI-CAM during the course of the tests. The increase in THI levels during the venous occlusion is clearly visible, just like the major decrease of tissue oxygenation during the arterial occlusion.

The internal validation study showed the reliability of the measuring data of the TI-CAM. Furthermore, the data is proven by significant findings in expert literature.
In wound care, tissue oxygenation is an important parameter of the healing process. For oxygenation levels higher than ca. 50 %, a positive wound development is very likely. However, wound tissue with a lasting oxygen saturation lower than 30 %, will most likely necrotize because of the insufficient supply. Tissue oxygenation levels below 10 % indicate dead tissue (necrosis). This is shown in the image below. It depicts a wound at the sole of a foot, which has areas with necrotic tissue.

Example of necrotic tissue. The oxygenation of the whole wound area is shown on the left. The circles within the image are software markers, referring to the average tissue oxygenation for the respective circled area (gey: 3 %, pink: 41 %, purple: 8 %). The histogram on the top right shows the acquired data for every pixel within said circles. In parts of the wound, the oxygenation levels are below 10 %, clearly indicating the necrotized tissue. This is visualized in the spectra of the markers (bottom right) as well.

Example of necrotic tissue. The oxygenation of the whole wound area is shown on the left. The circles within the image are software markers, referring to the average tissue oxygenation for the respective circled area (gey: 3 %, pink: 41 %, purple: 8 %). The histogram on the top right shows the acquired data for every pixel within said circles. In parts of the wound, the oxygenation levels are below 10 %, clearly indicating the necrotized tissue. This is visualized in the spectra of the markers (bottom right) as well.

Further information on this topic are provided here: HyperWound-CAM or Flap Monitoring

Bildgebendes Verfahren zur Darstellung der Gewebeperfusion

Die bildgebende Analyse der Gewebeperfusion oder Mikrozirkulation wird häufig durch das Laser-Speckle-Verfahren realisiert. Mit diesem Verfahren können aber nur Mikrobewegungen im Gewebe aufgenommen werden und die Qualität hängt weiterhin stark von den optischen Eigenschaften der oberen Hautschichten ab. Die wichtige Größe der Gewebeoxygenierung kann mit dem Laser-Speckle-Verfahren nicht erfasst werden. Die HSI-Technologie ermöglicht hingegen eine direkte Erfassung der Sauerstoffversorgung des Gewebes.

Okklusionstest Diaspective Vision from Diaspective Vision on Vimeo.

Im Rahmen einer internen Validationsstudie für die TIVITA™ Tissue wurde ein Okklusionstest durchgeführt.
Für die Messungen wurde die Durchblutung der linken Hand mittels Blutdruckmanschette am linken Arm reguliert. Zur Validation der ermittelten Werte wurde zudem an der linken Hand ein Sportsensor (MOXY) platziert. Die rechte Hand blieb für den Versuchsablauf unbeeinflusst. Während der 28 min dauernden Testabfolge wurden beide Hände der Probanden alle 30 Sekunden mit der TIVITA™ Tissue aufgenommen und die Daten ausgewertet. Dabei durchlief der Test die folgenden Phasen:
• Normalzustand I (4 min)
• Venöse Okklusion (6 min)
• Normalzustand II (6 min)
• Arterielle Okklusion (6 min)
• Reperfusion (6 min)

Im Folgenden sind die Ergebnisse zusammengestellt.

Übersicht Ergebnisse der Testabfolge: Rechte Hand dauerhaft im Normalzustand (im jeweiligen aufgenommenen Bild links), linke Hand mit MOXY Monitor und die verschiedenen Phasen durchlaufend. Die Phase Normalzustand II ist nicht abgebildet. Die unterste Reihe gibt die jeweiligen aus der Mitte der Handinnenfläche gemittelten Werte als Spektrum wieder, wobei der obere Graph die linke, und der untere Graph die rechte Handinnenfläche repräsentiert.

Übersicht Ergebnisse der Testabfolge: Rechte Hand dauerhaft im Normalzustand (im jeweiligen aufgenommenen Bild links), linke Hand mit MOXY Monitor und die verschiedenen Phasen durchlaufend. Die Phase Normalzustand II ist nicht abgebildet. Die unterste Reihe gibt die jeweiligen aus der Mitte der Handinnenfläche gemittelten Werte als Spektrum wieder, wobei der obere Graph die linke, und der untere Graph die rechte Handinnenfläche repräsentiert.

Normale „gesunde“ Perfusion (Normalzustand)
Dauer: 4 min
Methode: –
Kennzeichen: beidseitig gleichmäßige Oxygenierung (~60-70 %) und NIR Perfusion, nahezu identische Verteilung des Hämoglobins

Venöse Okklusion
Dauer: 6 min
Methode: Abklemmen des linken Arms mittels Blutdruckmanschette bei 80 mmHg,
Kennzeichen: moderate Reduzierung der Gewebeoxygenierung (~35-45 %) und der NIR Perfusion sowie Erhöhung des THI.

Normalzustand II
Dauer: 6 min
Methode: –
Kennzeichen: gleichmäßige Oxygenierung und NIR Perfusion, Senkung des THI

Arterielle Okklusion
Dauer: 6 min
Methode: Abklemmen des linken Arms mittels Blutdruckmanschette bei 250 mmHg,
Kennzeichen: durch starke Reduzierung der Gewebeoxygenierung (~25-30 %) und NIR Perfusion und moderate Erhöhung des THI

Reperfusion
Dauer: 6 min
Methode: –
Kennzeichen: gleichmäßige Oxygenierung und NIR Perfusion, Erhöhung des THI

Die nachfolgenden Abbildungen spiegeln den physiologischen Verlauf der Versuchsabfolge wieder.
Gegenüberstellung der Sauerstoffsättigung des Gewebes der linken (TIVITA™ Tissue und Sportsensor) und der rechten Hand (TIVITA™ Tissue).

Dargestellt ist die mittels TIVITA™ Tissue und Sportsensor ermittelte Sauerstoffsättigung des Gewebes der linken Hand (Hand: blauer Graph, MOXY: grauer Graph) und der rechten Hand (rosa Graph). Die vom MOXY ermittelten Werte sind annähernd identisch mit denen der TIVITA™ Tissue und bestätigen diese somit.

Dargestellt ist die mittels TIVITA™ Tissue und Sportsensor ermittelte Sauerstoffsättigung des Gewebes der linken Hand (Hand: blauer Graph, MOXY: grauer Graph) und der rechten Hand (rosa Graph). Die vom MOXY ermittelten Werte sind annähernd identisch mit denen der TIVITA™ Tissue und bestätigen diese somit.

Gegenüberstellung der Parameter der TIVITA™ Tissue, oberflächliche Sauerstoffsättigung, tieferliegende Sauerstoffsättigung (NIR Perfusion) und THI.

Gegenüberstellung der Parameter Oxygenierung, NIR-Perfusion und THI, die während des Versuchsablaufs von der TIVITA™ Tissue in der linken Hand gemessen wurden. Der Anstieg des THI während der venösen Okklusion ist ebenso deutlich erkennbar, wie der drastische Abfall der Sauerstoffversorgung während der arteriellen Okklusion.

Gegenüberstellung der Parameter Oxygenierung, NIR-Perfusion und THI, die während des Versuchsablaufs von der TIVITA™ Tissue in der linken Hand gemessen wurden. Der Anstieg des THI während der venösen Okklusion ist ebenso deutlich erkennbar, wie der drastische Abfall der Sauerstoffversorgung während der arteriellen Okklusion.

Die interne Validationsstudie belegt die Zuverlässigkeit der von der TIVITA™ Tissue ermittelten Messwerte und auch die Erkenntnisse aus der Fachliteratur werden durch die bisherigen Ergebnisse der Aufnahmen bestätigt.
In der Wundversorgung spielt die Gewebeoxygenierung für den Heilungsverlauf eine große Rolle. Ab einer Sauerstoffversorgung des Gewebes von ca. 50 % ist ein Heilungsverlauf sehr wahrscheinlich. Bei Wundgewebe allerdings, dessen Oxygenierungswerte dauerhaft unter ca. 30 % liegen, wird aufgrund der Unterversorgung voraussichtlich absterben. Eine ermittelte Gewebesauerstoffsättigung von unter 10 % deutet auf nekrotisches Gewebe hin. Dies ist in der nachstehenden Abbildung einer Wunde an der Fußsohle mit bereits abgestorbenem Gewebe dargestellt.

Beispiel nekrotisches Gewebe. Die Oxygenierung der gesamten Wundfläche ist im Bild links dargestellt. Die dort abgebildeten Kreise sind Softwaremarker, die spezifische, für die Fläche der Kreise ermittelte, durchschnittliche Gewebeoxygenierung (grau: 3 %; rosa: 41 %; lila: 8 %) zeigen. Das Histogramm oben rechts zeigt die ermittelten Werte der Kreise für jeden einzelnen Pixel. Die Sauerstoffsättigung liegt in Teilen der Wunde an der Fußsohle bei unter 10 % und indiziert eindeutig das bereits abgestorbene Gewebe. Dies ist auch in den Spektren der gesetzten Marker (unten rechts) erkennbar.

Beispiel nekrotisches Gewebe. Die Oxygenierung der gesamten Wundfläche ist im Bild links dargestellt. Die dort abgebildeten Kreise sind Softwaremarker, die spezifische, für die Fläche der Kreise ermittelte, durchschnittliche Gewebeoxygenierung (grau: 3 %; rosa: 41 %; lila: 8 %) zeigen. Das Histogramm oben rechts zeigt die ermittelten Werte der Kreise für jeden einzelnen Pixel. Die Sauerstoffsättigung liegt in Teilen der Wunde an der Fußsohle bei unter 10 % und indiziert eindeutig das bereits abgestorbene Gewebe. Dies ist auch in den Spektren der gesetzten Marker (unten rechts) erkennbar.

„Mit der Hyperspektralkamera lassen sich potentiell in Zukunft kritische Perfusionsverhältnisse auch an menschlichen Patienten derart erkennen. Somit könnte hier ein potentiell valides Instrument zur zeitnahen Revision von Lappenplastiken zur Verfügung stehen.“
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. habil. Dr. med. dent., Peer W. Kämmerer

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie hier: HyperWound-CAM oder unter Flap Monitoring