headerbild

Coming soon: TIVITA® Endoscopy – Offers new Insights!

Endoscopic hyperspectral imaging is a worldwide novelty in medicine!

With TIVITA® Endoscopy, it will finally be possible to also use hyperspectral imaging for minimally invasive surgery.

Besides a continuous live color image, the camera displays various perfusion parameters of human tissue. The user is thus provided with additional diagnostic-supporting information that is not visible to the human eye. By extending the surgeon’s visual field and assisting in the detection of anatomical risk structures and pathological changes, the clinical outcome of complex operations can potentially be improved for patients.

Basis for the development of TIVITA® Endoscopy is the TIVITA® Tissue, which has already established the technology of hyperspectral imaging for open surgical applications and which is successfully used intraoperatively, e.g. for the assessment of anastomoses and for the precise determination of resection positions.

 

The TIVITA® Endoscopy can be used in all medical fields in which minimally invasive surgery is used, for example in:

  • Visceral surgery
  • Heart surgery
  • Thoracic surgery
  • Surgical Oncology
  • Transplantation medicine
  • Gastroenterology
  • Gynecology
  • Urology

 

The advantages:

  • Display of blood flow and substance parameters for the detection of anatomic risk structures
  • Contactless imaging
  • Non-invasive, as no dyes are necessary
  • Safe, as there is no ionizing radiation
  • Simple operation through intuitive software
  • No preparation time required – minimal impact on the workflow
  • Fast, quantifiable measurements
  • Repetitive measurements
  • Objective through stable algorithms
  • Cost-effective

TIVITA® Endoscopy is offered as a complete system consisting of the core components: HSI/RGB camera, broadband LED illumination source, computer including software, two Full-HD monitors, medical trolley and endoscope.

Thanks to different camera sensors it is possible to permanently view a color video and simultaneously take an unlimited number of HSI images, which are displayed on the second monitor. With only one hyperspectral image taken by TIVITA® Endoscopy, various blood flow and substance parameters are displayed. These include:

  • Tissue Oxygen Saturation (StO2 [%])
  • Organ Hemoglobin Index (OHI)
  • NIR Perfusion Index (NIR)
  • Tissue Water Index (TWI)
  • Tissue Lipid Index (TLI)

In various studies, hyperspectral imaging has been and is currently being compared with the ICG fluorescence imaging technique for intraoperative perfusion control.

HSI offers decisive advantages over ICG imaging.

Compared to HSI, fluorescence-based technologies are associated with some risks for the patients because, unlike non-invasive HSI, the injection of a fluorescent dye is necessary. Phototoxic effects and hypersensitivity reactions have been described. Another disadvantage is that inflammatory changes, abscesses and necrotic areas result in false positive fluorescence. In addition, the quality of the signal is strongly dependent on the type of tissue and can also be negatively influenced by the effect of “photo-bleaching”.

In addition, the use of the TIVITA® Endoscopy System is more cost-effective, since the material input of 25 mg ICG alone costs about 80 € [BAIOCCHI et al. 2018] – these current costs are completely eliminated for HSI. This saving is equivalent to a value of 80,000 – 240,000 € in five years, assuming one to three usages per day at 200 working days per year. Other advantages of HSI are the short preparation and measurement time, reproducibility, quantifiability and repeatability of the images – without distribution of a dye in the organism.

Click here to go to the publications.

[BAIOCCHI, Gian Luca; DIANA, Michele; BONI, Luigi. Indocyanine green-based fluorescence imaging in visceral and hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery: State of the art and future directions. World journal of gastroenterology, 2018, 24. Jg., Nr. 27, S. 2921]

headerbild

Coming soon: TIVITA® Endoscopy – Offers new Insights!

Die endoskopische Hyperspektral-Bildgebung ist ein weltweites Novum in der Medizin!

Mit der TIVITA® Endoscopy wird es nun endlich möglich sein, die hyperspektrale Bildgebung auch für minimal-invasive Eingriffe zu nutzen.
Neben einem kontinuierlichen Live-Farbbild stellt die Kamera verschiedene Perfusionsparameter von menschlichem Gewebe dar. Dem Anwender werden so zusätzliche diagnoseunterstützende Informationen zur Verfügung gestellt, welche mit dem menschlichen Auge nicht sichtbar sind. Durch die Erweiterung des Sichtfeldes des Chirurgen und die Unterstützung bei der Erkennung von anatomischen Risikostrukturen und pathologischen Veränderungen kann bei komplexen Operationen das klinische Outcome für die Patienten potentiell verbessert werden.
Die Grundlage für die Entwicklung der TIVITA® Endoscopy bildet die TIVITA® Tissue, welche die Technologie der hyperspektralen Bildgebung u. a. bereits für offen-chirurgische Anwendungen etabliert hat und erfolgreich intraoperativ, z. B. zur Beurteilung von Anastomosen und zur präzisen Festlegung von Resektionspositionen, eingesetzt wird.

Die TIVITA® Endoscopy kann in allen Fachrichtungen angewendet werden, in denen die minimal-invasive Chirurgie zum Einsatz kommt, zum Beispiel in der:

  • Viszeralchirurgie
  • Herzchirurgie
  • Thoraxchirurgie
  • Chirurgische Onkologie
  • Transplantationsmedizin
  • Gastroenterologie
  • Gynäkologie
  • Urologie

 

Die Vorteile:

  • Darstellung von Durchblutungs- und Substanzparametern zur Erkennung von anatomischen Risikostrukturen
  • Kontaktlose Bildgebung
  • Nicht-invasiv, da keine Farbstoffe notwendig sind
  • Ungefährlich, da keine ionisierende Strahlung
  • Einfache Bedienung durch intuitive Software
  • Keine Vorbereitungszeit notwendig – minimaler Einfluss auf den Workflow
  • Schnelle, quantifizierbare Messungen
  • Repetitive Messungen
  • Objektiv durch stabile Algorithmen
  • Kosteneffektiv

 

Die TIVITA® Endoscopy wird als Gesamtsystem angeboten, bestehend aus den Kernkomponenten: HSI/RGB-Kamera, Breitband-LED Beleuchtungsquelle, Computer inklusive Software, zwei Full-HD Monitore, medizinischer Fahrwagen und Endoskop.

Dank verschiedener Kamerasensoren ist es möglich, dauerhaft ein Farbvideo zu sehen und gleichzeitig beliebig viele HSI-Aufnahmen zu machen, welche auf dem zweiten Monitor dargestellt werden. Mit nur einer hyperspektralen Aufnahme durch die TIVITA® Endoscopy werden Ihnen verschiedene Durchblutungs- und Substanzparameter dargestellt. Dazu gehören:

  • Gewebe-Sauerstoffsättigung (StO2 [%])
  • Organ-Hämoglobin-Index (OHI)
  • NIR-Perfusion-Index (NIR)
  • Tissue-Water-Index (TWI)
  • Tissue-Lipid-Index (TLI)

In verschiedenen Studien wurde und wird aktuell die hyperspektrale Bildgebung mit der ICG-Fluoreszenz-Bildgebungstechnik zur intraoperativen Perfusionskontrolle verglichen.

Die HSI bietet gegenüber der ICG-Bildgebung entscheidende Vorteile.

Im Vergleich zur HSI gehen Fluoreszenz-basierte Technologien mit einigen Risiken für die Patienten einher, da im Gegensatz zur nicht-invasiven HSI die Injektion eines Fluoreszenzfarbstoffes notwendig ist. So sind phototoxische Effekte und Überempfindlichkeitsreaktionen beschrieben. Nachteilig ist ebenso, dass entzündliche Veränderungen, Abszesse und nekrotische Areale in falsch positiven Fluoreszenzen resultieren. Zudem ist die Qualität des Signals stark von der Gewebeart abhängig und kann zusätzlich negativ durch den Effekt des „Photo-bleaching“ beeinflusst werden.

Außerdem ist die Verwendung des TIVITA® Endoscopy Systems kostengünstiger, da allein der Materialeinsatz von 25 mg ICG ca. 80 € kostet [BAIOCCHI et al. 2018] – diese laufenden Kosten entfallen für HSI komplett. Diese Einsparung entspricht einem Wert von 80.000 – 240.000 € in fünf Jahren, wenn ein bis drei Einsätze pro Tag bei 200 Arbeitstagen im Jahr angenommen werden. Weitere Vorteile der HSI sind die kurze Vorbereitungs- und Messzeit, Reproduzierbarkeit, Quantifizierbarkeit und Wiederholbarkeit der Aufnahmen, unabhängig von der Verteilung eines Farbstoffes im Organismus.

Hier geht es zu den Publikationen.

[BAIOCCHI, Gian Luca; DIANA, Michele; BONI, Luigi. Indocyanine green-based fluorescence imaging in visceral and hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery: State of the art and future directions. World journal of gastroenterology, 2018, 24. Jg., Nr. 27, S. 2921]